Picture
Profile picture for user GRAVES J

Jackson Graves

Laboratoire des Systèmes Perceptifs

Post-doc

29 rue d'Ulm

75005 Paris France

 

Laboratory
LSP
Team
Audition
Office
2nd floor
Tel
+33 (0)6 25 50 72 88
Selected publications
International Journal article  

Graves, J., Micheyl, C. & Oxenham, A. (2014). Expectations for melodic contours transcend pitch. Journal of experimental psychology. Human perception and performance, 40(6), 2338-47. doi:10.1037/a0038291

International Journal article  

Graves, J. & Oxenham, A. (2017). Familiar Tonal Context Improves Accuracy of Pitch Interval Perception. Frontiers in psychology, 8, 1753. doi:10.3389/fpsyg.2017.01753

Biography

I earned my bachelor's degree in Psychology and Music from the University of Minnesota, where I stayed to do a doctoral thesis in the Auditory Perception and Cognition (APC) laboratory on the subject of pitch perception in musical contexts. During my PhD, I also did an international internship through Erasmus Mundus, at the Lyon Neuroscience Research Center (CRNL), where I studied congenital amusia. In 2018, I started working at the ENS Paris as a postdoctoral researcher.

Research

I am mainly interested in music perception, and the processing of sound by the auditory system. I perform behavioral experiments in humans to better understand the perception of pitch, a dimension of sound that is important for the perception of both music and speech. Currently I study the perception of ambiguous or multi-stable sounds, and the awareness or non-awareness of the ambiguity of these sounds."

Picture
Profile picture for user GRAVES J

Jackson Graves

Laboratoire des Systèmes Perceptifs

Post-doctorant

29 rue d'Ulm

75005 Paris France

 

Laboratoire
LSP
Equipe
Audition
Bureau
2me étage
Tel
+33 (0)6 25 50 72 88
Publications sélectionnées
Article dans une revue internationale  

Graves, J., Micheyl, C. & Oxenham, A. (2014). Expectations for melodic contours transcend pitch. Journal of experimental psychology. Human perception and performance, 40(6), 2338-47. doi:10.1037/a0038291

Article dans une revue internationale  

Graves, J. & Oxenham, A. (2017). Familiar Tonal Context Improves Accuracy of Pitch Interval Perception. Frontiers in psychology, 8, 1753. doi:10.3389/fpsyg.2017.01753

Biographie

J'ai obtenu ma license en Psychologie et en Musique de l'University of Minnesota, où j'ai resté ensuite pour réaliser une thèse doctorale dans le laboratoire Auditory Perception and Cognition (APC), sur le sujet de la perception de la hauteur dans les contextes musicaux. Pendant ma thèse, j'ai aussi fait un stage internationale au travers Erasmus Mundus, au Centre de Recherches en Neurosciences de Lyon (CRNL), où j'ai réalisé un projet sur l'amusie congénitale. En 2018, j'ai commencé à travailler à l'ENS Paris en tant que post-doctorant.

Recherche

Je suis principalement intéressé par la perception de la musique, et le traitement des sons par le système auditif. Je réalise des expériences comportementales chez les humains pour mieux comprendre la perception de la hauteur, un dimension de son qui est important pour la perception à la fois de la musique et de la parole. Actuellement j'étudie la perception des sons ambigus ou multi-stables, et la conscience ou non-conscience de la ambiguïté de ces sons.